The Society

The OEGS was founded in 1932 and exists to encourage male and female Old Eastbournians (OEs) and current and former parents and staff to play and enjoy the game of golf in the company of their fellow alumni and members of the Eastbournian Society.

We enter teams for the prestigious Public School ‘scratch’ events of the Halford Hewitt, Grafton Morrish and Cyril Gray, all played on leading golf courses, and so we are always looking to increase our membership of low handicap players. There is a selection process for these events but this does not prevent an application to the Match Manager / Captain of the various scratch events.

We also have an impressive list of fixtures covering Open Meetings and School Matches against Brighton, Hurstpierpoint, King’s Canterbury, Lancing, Tonbridge and Uppingham and play a number of top-class courses in the South East of England including Walton Heath, West Hill, North Hants, West Sussex, West Surrey, Rye, Royal Eastbourne and St.George’s Hill. There are around 19 fixtures per annum. Our Spring Meeting is a popular visit to Royal West Norfolk GC over an April weekend, including Friday too for energetic golfers. Following a successful short tour to Cornwall (St.Enodoc and Trevose golf clubs) to celebrate Eastbourne College’s 150th anniversary in 2017, we are looking to create further short tours in the future.

We welcome new members and are always keen to have younger golfers, particularly those under 25 years old, join our friendly society. If you are interested in joining the OEGS, just apply here. After completing the Membership Application (see also Home page) you will receive Lapsed Member status. Please note that an annual subscription needs to be paid before Current Member status is approved giving access to most of the website. Please go to the Annual Membership Process Guide (under the Members drop down menu) to find out the subscription rates and OEGS bank account details. You can do this as an approved Lapsed Member.

Committee Members

President: Chris Walker
Secretary: David Burt
Treasurer: Jo Grey
Fixtures Manager: David Wells
Website Manager: Jo Grey

Other members
Match Manager: Andrew Langlands
Match Manager: Ben Burrows
Match Manager: Richard Day
ES Representative: David Stewart