Cyril Gray Tournament – 26th to 28th June 2024

OEGS PresidentUncategorized

A strong Eastbourne team assembled at Worplesdon Golf Club, some for practice and the dinner on 25th June.  In the first round we sailed past Bishop’s Stortford with victories from all 3 pairs: Adrian Sharpin and Mark Stewart by 4&3, Ben Burrows and Paul Wickman by 7&6 and David Barwell and Adam Walker by 6&5.  The second round the following morning vs. Epsom was a good deal more challenging.  Tony Dunn came in in place of Mark but both he and Adrian and Ben and Paul lost their games.  The last one involving David and Adam was declared a half.

For the record: Whitgift won the tournament having defeated Epsom in their semi-final.  Merchant Taylors’ won the Plate.

The course was in excellent condition and the weather very good, if not on the 26th perhaps too hot.  Chris Walker suffering from a leg injury acted as our non-playing captain.  Thanks to all those who took part.  Let us hope for even greater success in 2025.

Chris Walker plus the team from the match against Epsom.