Texas Scramble at West Surrey GC 3rd September 2023

OEGS PresidentUncategorized

6 teams assembled for the second OEGS Texas Scramble aimed at the younger OE golfers that included just one oldie (our Hon.Sec.) and a youthful Mum who had 2 of her offspring playing, one for the OEs and one for the College team.

We were blessed with a lovely early September day, a course in great condition, and wonderful company. The 3 Reeves boys and their House Master arrived at West Surrey GC to defend their title and immediately went to the practice ground to warm up. The College Team arrived via their mini bus chauffeured by said Reeves House Master. The rest arrived by car and train (luckily some were running).

After a sandwich and chips lunch, Charlie Hobden and team fired off some long drives, some into the adjacent driving range! One of his team, Joe Osbourne went on to win closest to the pin on the par 3 12th but their team’s 51 points were not quite enough to win.

Matt Brauer and his team followed with a very credible 50 points even though they brought in a non-OE ringer due to a late drop out (thanks to Matt for arranging a replacement – every Match Manager will appreciate that) who creamed the longest drive on the 18th, a par 5, that left a short chip onto the green. Awesome!

A College lad, Oliver Tutt won nearest the pin in 2 on the par 4 16th but despite some excellent golf by his team, they couldn’t reach the podium.

Jonny Robinson, with Alex Prior and the Hughes brothers gave it their best shot but fell short by 2 points.

Christian Trzebinski brought a plucky team and the handicap system didn’t help them with as many extra shots as they deserved but they had fun on this lovely course. This event is inclusive so thanks Christian for bringing a team.

The Reeves boys won for the second year running with 52 points. The handicap committee will be looking closely at their declared handicaps next year! Well done to Gearoid O’Callaghan, Josh Curryer, Matthew Rust and Ian Sands.

Prizes were presented by our President and the College boys were awarded OEGS pitch markers as a memento of their day out. Some very good golfers are coming through the College and all OEGS golfers should encourage them to keep our Society thriving. Thanks to the President for presenting prizes and the Hon.Sec. for hosting us at his lovely, welcoming Club. But mostly thanks to everyone who played. A fun day in ‘young’ OE company.

Colin Farrant

The College Team: Matteo Chu, Ollie May, Oliver Tutt, Andreas Photiou

Jonny Robinson, Alex Prior, Jack Hughes, Conor Hughes.

Iryna Photiou at the 8th hole.

Matteo Chu driving at the 18th.

President Chris Walker with the winning team: Matthew Rust, Ian Sands, Josh Curryer, Gearoid O’Callaghan.